Religion

16th Day of Lent | Jesus Christ Superstar, pt. 4

lent-banner

When I watch this part of the movie, I can’t help but think that there are times when I am a leper. The lepers start by asking Jesus to heal them and provide for them, but soon the music gets more intense. The lepers crowd in demanding that Jesus do what they say, they crowd him and ask incessantly for his blessing. They make no obeisance, they only ask for Jesus to give them what they want and meet their immediate physical needs.

Sometimes that is me. Sometimes all I do is focus on my own wants and just demand Jesus do what I say as if he is a gumball machine and all I have to do to have my prayers answered is to put in enough “I Want This” quarters. Sometimes I forget that God is a person, not a magic djinni that grants wishes.

When we forget that Jesus is a person we forget that he can be approached personally. We can go to him as a friend instead of reciting a laundry list of complaints. In the movie the lepers swarm Jesus not caring about him, only wanting what they want. They do not think of him as a person and they just become a pathetic writhing mass. The lepers don’t care to have a relationship with Jesus, they only care for his existence inasmuch as it gives them what they want.

Sometimes I am a leper, but I want to be better.

I no longer call you slaves, because a slave does not know what his master is doing. I have called you friends, because I have told you everything I have heard from my Father.

John 15:15

Leave a Reply

