Writing

An Adult Getting Baby Shots

I wasn’t vaccinated as a child. I was homeschooled and never had to get vaccinated later on either. I spent my entire life up til now un-vaccinated against Polio, Measles, Mumps, Rubella, Diphtheria, Pertussis, Meningitis, Hepatitis, Pneumonia and more. After watching a segment on Vaccines that aired on Last Week Tonight with John Oliver, I decided to change that.

Vacc3

Today I went to the doctor, explained my situation, and started on the vaccination journey. I got five vaccines today, and will have to follow up with more in the near future. If you’re an adult getting vaccines for the first time, here’s what I experienced:

Questions. A lot of people have a hard time believing that a person could get to adulthood without getting any vaccines. But, being homeschooled it wasn’t required for me, and neither of the colleges I attended required them either.

Pain. I’ve never had any shots before, ever, so I wasn’t sure what kind of pain to expect from the needle. It wasn’t bad, but certainly not comfortable either. Some of the vaccines had a lot of vaccine in them, and it seemed to take a long time (even though it really didn’t) to finish the injection. Because the needle has to go into the muscle, it will hurt a little after you get the shot.

Relief. After getting the vaccines, there’s a sense of relief that you don’t have to worry about contracting serious and potentially fatal diseases. No one should ever have to worry about getting Polio, and getting the vaccines takes a load off my mind. The science behind vaccination is solid and it’s a relief to not worry about getting sick.

Even though my parents never got me vaccinated they always encouraged me to think for myself and make my own decisions and today I have decided to do what’s best for my own health and the health of the community. Small Pox was eradicated because of good vaccination practices, I hope that one day soon Polio and many other preventable diseases will be eradicated too.

I praise God for vaccine science and am thankful that I am able to take this step toward a brighter and healthier future.

Leave a Reply

